Over the weekend my ma and I caught  Shakespeare in Love on the tele. Towards the end, my charming mother chimes in with:  

Mom: That Shakespeare had beautiful eyes…

Me: That was Joseph Fiennes – mhm, yeah, he is dreamy!

Mom: Shakespeare didn’t look like that? (She actually sounded shocked)

Me: Uhm, no… I don’t think so.  Though I think he was popular with the ladies and surely it wasn’t all about the pen. 

Mom: Oh so all those people died and the girl got rid of that husband she didn’t love?

Me: Huh? (I thought we were talking about innuendo still) No… that’s the next story – 12th Night.  That’s what he’s writing… are we looking at the same movie?

Mom: What? You mean they didn’t die… aww man!

Me (laughing out loud): Well, if it makes you happy we could say they did.  He was writing the next play mom, remember the Queen asked for a happier one? 

Ma: See, that’s why I don’t like Shakespeare… he’s not real!

Well there you have it folks: first Santa Claus and the Easter Bunny… now Shakespeare!  Who’s next the Toothfairy? Come on… Is everything fake on this planet? Will all the real people please stand up, please stand up, please stand up (ok, I just had to do that!) I did try to explain that the job of a good playwright perhaps is to get the audience wrapped up in the play so much so that they forget that it’s not real (like she did). I’m not sure she got it.

Sometimes I wonder who’s the parent. Really. Seriously. xD

