Puppy Palace Strikes Again

Originally uploaded by t!nk

It’s 8:06PM, I just got off the phone with the day vet who has been taking care of Lucia. She’ll be handing over to the night vet soon and wanted to update me on her status.

Lucy, had another bout of diarrhea and they are keeping her on fluids and frequent checks. Her case is considered critical.

She’s been diagnosed with parvo and has very low white blood cell count, low blood sugar and was extremely dehydrated (due to the vomiting and diarrhea).  My vet said she had been sick for a while and gone untreated.  I’m praying for a miracle and hoping Lucy has the pluck to fight it off.  She comes from a supposed pure bred lineage and the certificate says the Dam’s name was: Chee Chee Take a Chance.  All my prayers are counting on it – for sure.

I can’t believe this is the puppy I got yesterday nor that the people from Puppy Palace are the same people I dealt with. I keep pinching myself, but somehow I can’t wake up from this nightmare. My dog is sick – really sick and the people at Puppy Palace (in Hollywood) are acting like she’s just a dog… “just bring her back for a refund.”  The woman was rude and trying to have me admit fault, but the fact is she and Puppy Palace sold me a very sick dog.  They let me get emotionally invested and wanted me to return her as though she were a pair of shoes – she’s not, she’s my dog, my family.  Regardless of whether Florida Pet Lemon Law or anyone will hear me – these people are doing a great injustice to innocent animals and their people.  

I don’t impulse shop – especially not with animals. I visited this particular place twice and another place a couple of times a week with my best friend; she was looking for a dog. I was just looking and being a support until I saw Lucia. I asked to hold her and immediately knew that she was different. She was different to all those puppies I had held and played with, all the ones I looked at through their bars and cages – Lucia and I are supposed to be together.  Who knows what would’ve happened to her… I can’t even think about it.

Now this relationship is in a critical state and God can save her, God please save her… please pray for her.

[This place and people like it are unfit for dealing with animals.  They shouldn’t be allowed near them and certainly not in charge of their care, in this and several other instances – neglect.  I pray that all those other puppies are saved too and that someone stops people like Puppy Palace.]

